zulooage.blogg.se

Oregon backcountry discovery route gps tracks
Oregon backcountry discovery route gps tracks








  1. #OREGON BACKCOUNTRY DISCOVERY ROUTE GPS TRACKS UPDATE#
  2. #OREGON BACKCOUNTRY DISCOVERY ROUTE GPS TRACKS FULL#
  3. #OREGON BACKCOUNTRY DISCOVERY ROUTE GPS TRACKS PC#
  4. #OREGON BACKCOUNTRY DISCOVERY ROUTE GPS TRACKS DOWNLOAD#

#OREGON BACKCOUNTRY DISCOVERY ROUTE GPS TRACKS UPDATE#

I did and found myself at the option to update voice files. I did and since then, it’s worked fine.Īfter deleting the update file you are required to go through the update process again after rebooting the GPS. I contacted Garmin and they responded via email the next day telling me to delete the update file. I did have a little trouble with my Nuvi 550. You cannot use the maps on an SD card to create routes on your PC. The SD cards are locked to the GPS and, although the SD cards are easily removed, cannot be used on another GPS or PC.

#OREGON BACKCOUNTRY DISCOVERY ROUTE GPS TRACKS DOWNLOAD#

Obviously you can’t use a CD on the GPS unit so you have to download the routes you create, but, neither can you use the SD cards on a computer. If you want to create your routes on the GPS itself, the SD cards work well. If you want to create routes on the computer with BaseCamp or MapSource, you need the CD version of the 1:24,000 maps. I want the unit to route the roads and trails as I enter their GPS points. Where the unit will only draw straight lines between way points on the 1:100,000 maps, maybe taking your over a cliff (exaggeration). That means that on the 1:24,000 maps you can plug in two way points and the unit will draw a route using roads and trails shown on the map. You cannot not create routes on the 1:100,000 maps, just tracks. The 1:24,000 sectional maps (CD or SD card) have more detail than the 1:100,000 US maps which, I believe, is what comes stock on the Nuvi 500. I chose the Garmin 550 as it has more base maps Alaska, Canada, US, and, most importantly, Puerto Rico (a little sarcasm) and I prefer purchasing the 1:24,000 maps over the 500’s stock 1:100,000 map. The lack of touch screen is simply a personal preference. At my age, sight is not as good as it used to be so a bigger screen is more assuring. The 60CSx and Oregon 5xx models are very capable and can do some things the Nuvi cannot but their smaller screen size and lack of touch screen are draw backs. I’m sure they are great choices but figure I can spend the extra $250-$750 on other farkles. The Zumo and Rider are too expensive so were off the list quickly. All have the capability of plotting routes, uploading topo 1:24,000 resolution maps, and are water proof and shock resistant. The Garmin 60CSx and Oregon 5xx are also midrange at about $200-$300. The Nuvi 500/550 are good mid-range choices at $250-$300. The Tom Tom Rider and Garmin Zumo are top of the line devices ranging in price from $500-$1,000, depending on model and year.

oregon backcountry discovery route gps tracks

There are several good choices of GPS for motorcycles. The research I’ve done (ADVRider and other forums) has led me to select the Garmin Nuvi 550. It does not have off road/topo map capabilities so it’s out as a choice for the next ride. It’s basically a “point and shoot” device  select a start and end point and the Tom Tom will plot the route. I already own a Tom Tom 130S which works very well for cross country rides, but, it is not water proof nor can I plot routes.

#OREGON BACKCOUNTRY DISCOVERY ROUTE GPS TRACKS PC#

  • Plan the routes on a PC and download to the GPS.
  • Upload topo 1:24,000 resolution sectional maps.
  • I’ve been on the look out for a GPS for the Oregon Backcountry Discovery Route (OBCRD) ride next summer. At a minimum the GPS for this ride must: Author hman Posted on ApApCategories 11 Oregon Backcountry, Riding gear Tags Adventure, Oregon Backcountry Discovery Route 1 Comment on OBCDR Updates GPS

    oregon backcountry discovery route gps tracks

    I’ve emailed back and forth with a couple of the folks and they have been congenial and helpful. They recommend I come prepared for a lot of work. The camp goes early Saturday through 3pm Sunday.

    oregon backcountry discovery route gps tracks

    I travel to Roy (south of Tacoma) next Friday. I can definitely improve my off road skills, especially with the behemoth GS so signed up. They offer a two day Adventure camp which covers camping and riding skills. While attending the Seattle Motorcycle Show last winter I talked to folks at Puget Sound Safety Off Road ( PSSOR) booth.

    oregon backcountry discovery route gps tracks

    #OREGON BACKCOUNTRY DISCOVERY ROUTE GPS TRACKS FULL#

    He claims the ash tray was full on the other old (2010) bike. Norm also upgraded some of his riding equipment, namely the bike. He came home from Southsound BMW with a new 2011 GSA. Waterproofness and durability have yet to be tested. Norm found some great waterproof boots at Ranch and Home for only $80.










    Oregon backcountry discovery route gps tracks